George Verberg Grant

The George Verberg Grant is oriented towards a stay abroad and, as such, forms a supplement to the prizes and grants that Minerva Art Academy already awards to talented graduates.

{{'ShareCounter_Share_Label' | i18n}}:
{{'ShareCounter_Share_Label' | i18n}}:

The George Verberg Grant was set up by the city council of Groningen on 22 June 2004 after the departure of Mr G.H.B. Verberg as managing director of the NV Nederlandse GasUnie. Due to his merits for the City of Groningen and his exceptional interest in the visual arts, the Municipal Council honoured George Verberg as a parting gift with a grant bearing his name.

Bachelors: Fine Art, Design, Fine Art and Design in Education and Popular Culture
Masters: Painting en Media, Art, Design & Technology (MADtech) - Frank Mohr Institute

Stay in North and Eastern Europe
In view of the relationship between the Groningen GasUnie and the Russian Gazprom, and the extraordinary merits of George Verberg regarding the construction of the Russian (gas) pipeline, the winner of the grant is enabled to stay for a maximum of one year in North and/or Eastern Europe (Scandinavia, Germany, Poland, Baltic States). The Grant (10,000 Euro) is funded by the Municipality of Groningen. 

Winners of the George Verberg Grant

2019 Linde Ex (Frank Mohr Institute)
2018 Jorge Luis Barragán Castaño (Frank Mohr Institute)
2017 Wouter van der Laan (Frank Mohr Institute)
2016 Marit Westerhuis (Frank Mohr Institute)
2015 Yvanka Annot (Fine Art and Design)
2014 Aili Zhang (Frank Mohr Institute)
2013 Janine van Veen (Frank Mohr Institute)
2012 Marcel de Vries (Frank Mohr Institute)
2011 Henrike Scholten (Fine Art and Design)
2010 Eleanor Grootoonk (Frank Mohr Institute)
2009 Mina Minov (Frank Mohr Institute)
2008 Sanne Rous (Frank Mohr Institute)
2007 Jaime Ibanez (Fine Art and Designg)
2006 Alex Winters (Frank Mohr Institute)
2005 Jantina Wijnja (Fine Art and Design)

Starting points for the George Verberg Grant

  • Recent graduates of Minerva Art Academy, up to one year after obtaining their diploma and residing in the province of Groningen, may enrol as candidates for the Grant.
  • The management of Minerva Art Academy is responsible for the selection of the candidates. The management has appointed a five-membered jury that will judge the submissions for the Grant. Due to George Verberg's exceptional interest in art, he himself will also be a member of the selection committee.
  • Candidates will be invited to present their work to the jury in the autumn of 2020. If case of big number of submissions, the jury will make a preliminary selection on the basis of the submitted documents, and only the remaining candidates will be invited to present their work.
  • The winner will be given the opportunity to stay abroad for a maximum of one year. This will be a stay in North and/or Eastern Europe (Scandinavia, Germany, Poland, Baltic States).
  • The George Verberg Grant will be awarded in January 2021.
  • On his/her return, the winner will present the results of his/her stay abroad in a public space suitable for the purpose.


The closing date for registration will be 18 October 2020.

Applications can be (preferably!) addressed to: Mrs. Dorothea van der Meulen, Dean of Minerva Art Academy at
Please note: there is a limit on the files you can attach; if the file attachments exceed the maximum, it may prevent your application from being sent. Submit only jpeg files that do not exceed 5Mb, or use WeTransfer. 

Or hand in as hard copy at the secretary: Praediniussingel 59, Groningen, room 008, tel: 050-5951202

Applicationforms in Dutch and English are below:

{{'Opbouw_Title' | i18n}}

  • {{item.Title}}
    • {{child.Title}}

  • {{item.Title}}
    • {{child.Title}}

{{'Kernvakken_Title' | i18n}}

  • {{vak.Titel}}

{{'StudieInCijfers_Title' | i18n}}

{{'ShareCounter_Share_Label' | i18n}}:

{{'Contact_Title' | i18n}}

{{'Contact_LabelName' | i18n}} {{}}
{{'Contact_LabelAddress' | i18n}} {{addressLine}}
{{'Contact_LabelOffice' | i18n}} {{}}
{{'Contact_LabelAssistant' | i18n}} {{vm.assistantName}} {{vm.assistantName}}
{{'Contact_LabelPhone' | i18n}} {{}}
{{'Contact_LabelEmailAddress' | i18n}} {{vm.emailDisplay}}
{{'Contact_LabelWebsite' | i18n}} {{}}

{{'ThemesWidget_Title' | i18n}}

{{"FocusAreas_Title" | i18n}}

{{'ResearchProject_InfoWidgetTitle' | i18n}}

{{'ThemesWidget_Title' | i18n}}

{{"FocusAreas_Title" | i18n}}

{{'EducationProfile_Title' | i18n}}

{{'EducationProfile_VWO' | i18n}}

{{'EducationProfile_HAVO' | i18n}}

{{'EducationProfile_MBO' | i18n}}

{{'Opleidingen_Title' | i18n}}

{{'Location_Title' | i18n}}

{{'Locations_Title' | i18n}}


{{vm.model[0].ZipCode}}  {{vm.model[0].City}}

{{'ContactInformation_Title' | i18n}}